Hospital Authority of Valdosta and Lowndes County

Name Term Expiration Appointed By
Ben Copeland 12/1/26 Lowndes County
Dr. Brian Griner 8/1/27 Lowndes County
Sam Allen 5/1/24 City of Valdosta
Shirley Garland 6/1/24 Lowndes County
Gregory Powell 10/1/24 City of Valdosta
John W. Langdale, Jr. 2/1/25 City of Valdosta
Tim Dame 2/1/26 City of Valdosta
Dr. John D. Roan 8/1/27 Lowndes County

As a public hospital, an eight-member Hospital Authority governs South Georgia Medical Center. Lowndes County and the City of Valdosta appoint authority members. Each government appoints four representatives who each serve a 5-year term. Regularly scheduled meetings of the Hospital Authority occur on the third Wednesday of each month at 9:30 a.m. in the SGMC Executive Board Room unless otherwise posted. Meeting notices are posted on the first floor of the main campus near the mailroom.

For more information, contact Tina Register, Administrative Assistant at 229-259-4102 or Email Tina Register.

Lowndes County Board/Agency Appointee Information Sheet